.

Local Labour Councillors

Judith works closely with our team of dedicated Labour councillors in:

 


 

Great Horton

Joined Bradford at its incorporation in 1847, but traditionally a very separate area. One of the smallest wards geographically, but it maintains a diverse blend of industry and commerce, housing and open land nevertheless. Two churches, the Methodist and St John the Evangelist, pierce the skyline, with cottages beneath dating back to the 19th Century. Former Black Mountain quarry, woollen, tile and brick site now preserved as a village green until 2999. Birthplace of composer Frederick Delius, former MP Bob Cryer, and Look North presenter Harry Gration.

 

jdodds

Councillor Joanne Dodds

Telephone(Res): 01274 576624

Telephone(Bus): 01274 432276

Email: joanne.dodds@bradford.gov.uk

thussain

Councillor Tariq Hussain

Mobile Phone: 07812 001545

Email: cllr.tariqhussain@bradford.gov.uk

ajabar

Councillor Abdul Jabar

Mobile Phone: 07828 070248

Email: abdul.jabar@bradford.gov.uk

(Back to top)

 

Royds

Royds is home to Buttershaw – made famous for the 1950s estate that went on to suffer mass unemployment and drugs difficulties. The isolated estate featured in the film Rita, Sue and Bob Too, written by resident Andrea Dunbar. Whilst the film’s accuracy was debated at the time of its release, it is undoubtedly out-of-date now. Royds received over £20 million in support; funding an award-winning Secondary School and successful drugs rehab and education schemes. Royds has a range of fine features – including Royds Hall and the Delph Hill Centre in Woodside. Andrea Dunbar tragically died in 1990, aged 29.

 

vslater

Councillor Val Slater

Telephone(Res): 01274 564099

Email: val.slater@bradford.gov.uk

atait

Councillor Angela Tait

Mobile Phone: 07582 100591

Email: angela.tait@bradford.gov.uk

athornton

Councillor Andrew Thornton

Telephone(Res): 01274 792201

Email: andrew.thornton@bradford.gov.uk

(Back to top)

 

Tong

Tong village is on the outskirts of Bradford district, miles from the city centre. It is largely rural, with rolling fields surrounding quaint areas of early Victorian industrialisation architecture. Tong is also home to two housing estates and the Euroway Trading Estate. Tong Hall (pictured) was built in 1702, adjacent to St James’ Church – a Norman building rumoured to be one of the first places of worship in Bradford. In the 1960s, the Boundary Commission advised Tong to join Pudsey Council, but the community decided to stay with Bradford.

 

mjohnson

Councillor Michael Johnson

Mobile Phone: 07786 126199

Email: michael.johnson@bradford.gov.uk

tpeart

Councillor Tess Peart

Mobile Phone: 07582 103196

Email: tess.peart@bradford.gov.uk

awainwright

Councillor Alan Frederick Wainwright

Telephone(Res): 01274 820774

Mobile Phone: 07795 808759

Email: alan.wainwright@bradford.gov.uk

(Back to top)

Wibsey

Wibsey is one of the highest urban villages in Britain. Wibsey appeared in the Doomsday book as Wibetese at a time when wild boar and wolves resided in the Forest of Brianscholes, and geese rested in Wibsey slack. Wibsey slack became Wibsey park in 1995 – featuring sports pitches, flower gardens, children’s areas and a lake. Councillor Enoch Priestley fought to keep the park open to the public. When Priestley managed to get a road built connecting Wibsey with the city, local residents unofficially canonised him and called the road St Enoch’s. Other popular attractions include the Richard Dunn Sport Centre – named after the local boxer who faced Mohammed Ali – as well as several good shops and pubs.

 

rberry

Councillor Ralph Berry

Telephone(Res): 01274 770869

Mobile Phone: 07976 382993

Email: ralph.berry@bradford.gov.uk

dgreen

Councillor David Green

Telephone(Bus): 01274 432084

Mobile Phone: 07876 038279

Email: david.green@bradford.gov.uk

bigpic

Councillor Joanne Sharp

Mobile Phone: 07452 950130

Email: joanne.sharp@bradford.gov.uk

(Back to top)

Wyke

Wyke is home the Bradford Bulls – who first played at the stadium back in 1934 against Huddersfield. The Bulls have a distinguished history, but the new millennium has brought the club its greatest successes – winning all three titles in 2003, and regaining the World Club Challenge title in 2004. Wyke boasts relaxing spaces like Judy Woods which border villages near some of Bradford’s most successful businesses. The company AH Marks has operated in Wyke since 1877, when it began producing dyestuffs for the local textiles industry. Wyke forms the Southern tip of the Bradford South constituency.

 

sferriby

Councillor Sarah Ferriby

Telephone(Res): 01274 674306

Email: sarah.ferriby@bradford.gov.uk

dwarburton

Councillor David Warburton

Telephone(Res): 01274 421407

Mobile Phone: 07774 505988

Email: david.warburton@bradford.gov.uk

 bigpic (1)

Councillor Rosie Watson

Telephone(Res): 01274 393879

Mobile Phone: 07582 101622

Email: rosie.watson@bradford.gov.uk

(Back to top)

You may also be interested in:

UK Labour Party